Pure Technic Crossbow And Projectile Aerodynamics

PsychoGenetiX

PsychoGenetiX

Hey everyone, newbie here.

I was wondering whether this is the forum I should go to.

I have built a 6.5in long crossbow out of pure Technic pieces. I don't like normal LEGO pieces because they seem cumbersome and boring to me. That is why I have a large collection of pure Technic.

It launches projectiles ranging from normal 2.5'' long, 2mm thick toothpicks to 4mm thick, 4in long sharpened bamboo skewers at least 48 mph fast and has the capacity to shoot an accurate 10m.

As you can see it is built to be a weapon of sorts.

It uses 3 rubber bands, one for firing the projectile and two to hold the trigger mechanism locked. It is simple. It has only one moving part, the trigger mechanism. The difference between firing toothpicks and skewers is like a pistol's caliber change: The crossbow itself has a barrel 5 inches long, and for toothpicks it has circle pegs inside, for skewers nothing, leaving the circle peg holes open wider to fit the added length. The projectile sits free-floating when loaded, between the barrel and stabbing a piece of duct-tape on the rubber band.

Now for the question: The projectile tends to flip over in mid-air, which causes the range at which it can penetrate the target to be reduced to 5m away. My guess is it's because we're talking about toothpicks and skewers which are light and small, their weight causing them to flip over because of the air resistance.

My question is, does anyone have an idea how to counteract that? will fletching them fix it, like a real crossbow bolt? Or do I need to find another kind of wood to use as a bolt?\

Here are a few pictures of the CURRENT version, but keep in mind that it is an active and constantly changing model, as there is always something to improve:

DSCF4007.jpg

DSCF4008.jpg

DSCF4009.jpg

DSCF4011.jpg

DSCF4012.jpg

Loaded:

DSCF4013.jpg

DSCF4014.jpg